Cadeaux – Gifts

 

“I have great faith in fools – self-confidence my friends will call it.”

— Edgar Allan Poe 

 

 

p1230402_2.jpg

                                                         

 

 

 

 

 

IFor Rimbaud:                             

  

I began to notice movements

I’m not sure why I was happy

to watch the fiery falling star

a lifetime and a universe ago    

 

 

 

 

II. For Manet:     

 

I feel the first stirrings of something

resembling meaning, figments of my lonely mind –

not all of them, but

they were expected to be at work today  

 

 

 

  

III. For Utrillo:  

 

Time to breathe & sober up,

and check my heart rate

for my Maman to believe it – 

I am alive!     

 

 

 

 

IV. For Baudelaire:  

 

Rest of the pills

down the drain,

& head back to  

the living lodestone!               

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

                      

 p1230388_3.jpg

 

 

*** 

Man Ray’s experimental short film: Return to Reason (Le Retour à la Raison, 1923)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nh4RO_i5Cno&feature=related

***

Peter Bies © 2011

*** 

 

One thought on “Cadeaux – Gifts

Leave a Reply

