The Far Side of the World’s Mirror

“I’m a recording instrument… I do not presume to impose “story” “plot” “continuity”… Insofar as I succeed in Direct recording of certain areas of psychic process I may have limited function… I am not an entertainer…”

 

— William S. Burroughs

 

 

_10904391.jpg

 

 

 

hear the snow melt in the sun

voice the synapse in my mind

it’s just a minute drop from the peak

& there’s a friend on the phone

hallucinations tingling where I flipped a shilling

& what about the four ways to a molecular still?

my two brains & all

is more on the level

& apart at one time

to end the attitude of anyhow

more mind-noise spilled over

& engage to copy half an hour

of dreamspeak by malfunction

soft &  tender to the feel

of  four point questions

& warnings on the wind

 

being answered aware of the ambiguity

 

of the words

I grind

 

flying mothballs on the sloping flanks

of my aural bark

flickering shadows across the stage

dull claws scraping Cyclopean walls

###

###

### 

 

 

 

_1090419_2.jpg

 

 

***

Peter Bies © 2010

*** 

 

Leave a Reply

