Beyond Cortical Hinterlands

 “I don’t particularly like what’s around me.”

 — William Eggleston

 

_1090576.jpg

 

& I had some pills:

antihistamine tablets

 

_10905771.jpg

 

my living room is child-sized

cat scurries up off the movie

feelings as close as my eyes/

I feel a dream in the making:

& waking is difficult

 

_1090578.jpg

 

 I hear footsteps upstairs 

a KKK hood moves fluidly 

& I realize I just hallucinated someone

a few more minutes now

& a sure feeling in the

crook of my arm –

just like a dream

enlarged

& slow

###

###

### 

 

_1090579.jpg

 

***

Peter Bies © 2010

*** 

 

Leave a Reply

