Super Unreal*

And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you.

— Friedrich Nietzsche

 

 

_10903241.jpg

 

 

 

my thoughts

are abstract &

America’s choice after going to war

is taking some kind of drug –

so why restart the disk and set it

to show just giant clear amoeba blobs? 

there’s zillions of options!

getting off the couch 

I lie on the blankets 

& my dog at my feet

I decide it’s head back

to look at me & see 

why I’m not 

sweating

&

this bubbling stops

this bubbling at

the ceiling 

###

###

### 

 

 

 

_10903261.jpg

 

 

*Philip K. Dick, A Scanner Darkly (1977), p. 32

***

Peter Bies © 2010

*** 

 

2 thoughts on “Super Unreal*

  1. America (as in the USA and not the continents), I’m sad to say, is addicted to war at the moment. Maybe a drug would help but I don’t think so. Time will tell I guess.

    I know your writing is abstract, but sometimes I react as if it were literal.

  2. You’re right, this line can be read as an oblique comment on America’s present collective state of mind. I wasn’t really aware of it because I’m more concerned with rhythmic qualities. Thanks for your feedback!
    Marilyn – please feel free to react to my writing as if it wasn’t abstract, but literal or symbolic or metaphorical – you name it…! 😉

Leave a Reply

