“How’s Your Head Today?” *

‘… every dedicated artist is something of a sadist, willing to countenance a little or a lot of suffering – not only his own, but other people’s – for the sake of the end product.”

 ‘A familiar type, to be sure,’ Ware said with a lopsided grin.

 

— James Blish, Black Easter or Faust Aleph-Null (1968)

 

 _1090264.jpg

 

 

“How’s your head today?”

“Sort of in a bad space. Sort of down.” 

 

television, at low doses

around midnight

movie is a movie

is a halfway over

 

 “How’s your head today?”

“Sort of in a bad space. Sort of down.” 

 

I just can’t talk so

I attempt to speak

to my downstairs

& find me tripping

theories:

I’ll leave it up to you

you of the past

to finetune

my future

 

“How’s your head today?”

“Sort of in a bad space. Sort of down.” 

 

 my tongue feels dog

very cold to the touch

texture basically normal

save for the buds & I’m

afraid to open up in my sleep

& somehow I just know

it is light

it is light

like a camera flash

###

###

###

 

 

_1090323.jpg

 

 

 * Philip K. Dick, A Scanner Darkly (1977)p. 24

 

***

Peter Bies © 2010

 ***

Leave a Reply

