Flowers in the Rain

p1060628.jpg

My Private Alphaville’s Botanical Garden… there’s blue bottles and bumble bees buzzing beneath the bushes… seeking shelter from the heavy drops of a sudden, violent late afternoon downpour… fine ionized mist ripe with warm damp odors of soaked soil and scented petals… under a muted gray steel sky organic colors crying out so luringly it almost hurts my eyes… the life eternal… is this nature no this is the gardener’s skill… Zuchtformen… dainty cultivated breeds… after the rain clouds have disappeared, magnetic field lines breathe a steady breeze on the pacific ocean of my mind…

(BTW… Artdoxa says hello to our 1000th member – Ofer Zick! Hi Ofer, how’s things in Israel today?!)

p1060369_2.jpg

Woke up one morning half asleep

With all my blankets in a heap

p1060382.jpg

And yellow roses scattered all around

The time was still approaching

p1060288.jpg

For I couldn’t stand it anymore

Some marigolds upon my eiderdown

p1060523.jpg

I’m just sitting watching flowers in the rain

Feel the power of the rain keeping me good

p1060501_2.jpg

So I lay upon my side

With all the windows open wide

p1060260.jpg

Couldn’t pressurize my head from speaking

p1060293.jpg

Hoping not to make a sound

I pushed my bed into the grounds

p1060298_2.jpg

In time to catch the sight that I was seeking

p1060304.jpg

I’m just sitting watching flowers in the rain

p1060393.jpg

If this perfect pleasure has to be

Then this is paradise to me

p1060542_2.jpg

If my pillow’s getting wet

I can’t see that it matters much to me

p1060495.jpg

I heard the flowers in the trees

p1060623.jpg

Relieved to leave reality behind me

p1060373.jpg

With my commitments in a mess

My sleep is not a way of rest

p1060301.jpg

In a world of fantasy you’ll find me

I’m just sitting watching flowers in the rain

Watching flowers in the rain

Flowers in the rain

p1060408.jpg

Power flowers in the rain

p1060636.jpg

Flower power in the rain…

(fade out)

p1060394.jpg

(The Move: Flowers in the Rain, 1967)

(Umm… I wanted to insert a link to a YouTube video here, but there’s been a glitch… sorry!)

p1060359.jpg

Hey it’s working again! There you are!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6o5F0s2SjQ

***

Photography: Peter Bies © 2009

***

9 thoughts on “Flowers in the Rain

  1. Thank god for the hippies! i.e. their colours.
    touching. but you still have to wait a little time for the id-thingy – i’m in constant mental asceticism these days.
    s.

  2. superb dear ol´ frien´! i feel hippietized too!
    reminds me that day i´ve had magic mushrooms on toast (with a dip of sourcream!)and than visiting “Botanischen Garten” in berlin!

  3. Pingback: kymulito

Leave a Reply

