Neural Poetry – The Anodyne

“But to-morrow I die, and to-day I would unburthen my soul.” — Edgar Allan Poe, The Black Cat

p1040281_2.jpg

I shall not speak to hallow

the poppy road in bloom

my mind is bleak and shallow

my soul

wallows in gloom

p1040624.jpg

p1040444_2.jpg

so every other sunset

I crave a toxic flash

I pray for instant onset

of acid opium hash

p1040564_2.jpg

pink bubbles blur my vision

I close my eyes in pain

takes but a small incision

to heal my haunted brain

p1050273.jpg

p1040766.jpg

I feel the world turn inward

imploding as it grows

mental disintegration

bliss

of an overdose

p1040348_2.jpg

p1040702_2.jpg

although I sense the damage

I cannot feel regret

to dream in my own image

to drown in my own sweat

p1040745.jpg

spine frozen to the ceiling

blue lips voice soundless words

corruption of my cortex

my reptile brain

stirs

p1040015_2.jpg

house of the silent people

no pictures on the walls

no shadows in the twilight

no more unwanted calls

p1060180_2.jpg

indifference my religion

no reason to complain

no faith or superstition

no guilt, remorse

nor pain.

p1050516_2.jpg

p1030800.jpg

Peter Bies © 2009

6 thoughts on “Neural Poetry – The Anodyne

  1. “Echter Humor ist Lachenüber sich selbst, echtes Menschsein ist Bewußtsein von sich selbst.”
    Schönen Dank, Peter!!!

Leave a Reply

